Building a Software Craftsmanship Community at Work

Last night I went to a meetup run by my favorite meetup group, the London Software Craftsmanship Community, or LSCC.

The best part? There was cake!

The second best part? I had a bit of an epiphany when it comes to community building. More on that later.

LSCC Background

I learned last night that this group was co-founded by Sandro Manusco six years ago (hence the cake), who also co-founded Codurance. Interestingly, this was the first LSCC meetup actually hosted at Codurance in the history of the group. Also, it was the first time that I’ve met Sandro in the dozen or so sessions I’ve been to.

unnamed

Sandro introducing the session

LSCC has a great variety of meetups, including talks, pair programming nights, and hands-on workshops.

An Open Space Event

The format of this particular session was Open Space, where the participants come up with the content. On a whim, I decided to propose a discussion about something that has been on my mind recently: How do I build a sustainable community of software craftsmanship at my company?

I was wondering this because optional lunch and learns were introduced at work this spring. Initially, there were lots of people running and attending these talks, but recently they’ve dwindled a bit and I’m the only one who is still planning sessions.

The Group Discussion

Luckily, there were many people who were interested in discussing that topic, as well as a similar topic, the relationship between employees and management. There was a great discussion, but it focused more on the other topic. Before I knew it, the time was up and my question wasn’t quite answered.

The Advice

Three people noticed this and approached me afterwards. They had all experienced similar problems and gave me piles of advice. My head was spinning with all the great ideas they were throwing around, so I’ll probably miss some, but I’d sum them up as follows.

1) Shared Ownership

The community shouldn’t feel like it’s just one person’s baby. It shouldn’t just rely on one person to keep it afloat. Start it then fade into the background.

2) Regularity

They don’t need to be every week, but they should be some sort of discernible pattern. Don’t randomly scatter sessions. People will be more likely to remember to come if it’s every other Wednesday than if it’s just two random days per month.

3) Variety

If your lightning talk sessions are falling flat, try pair programming on some kata. Or perhaps showing some videos. Or a book club.

4) Levity

Don’t take yourselves too seriously. This isn’t work. It shouldn’t feel like work. Have fun.

5) Openness and Support

Welcome everyone with open arms. Support each other.

The Epiphany

While cycling home, it hit me. It seems so obvious now, but this is exactly how LSCC is run.

  1. Shared Ownership: Sandro may have co-founded it but there’s now a dedicated army of other organizers who keep it going and thriving.
  2. Regularity: There are very regular sessions- this open space session, for example, is a monthly one.
  3. Variety: As I mentioned before, there’s lots of different sessions.
  4. Levity: And there’s definitely lots of joking around (by the way, is Java dead?).
  5. Openness and Support: I worried at first that I didn’t belong to this group, but was welcomed so quickly that I completely forgot that. The support I felt yesterday by the people who took the time to approach me after the group discussion was awesome.

In short, what I need to do at work in order to build a culture of software quality is to be more like LSCC.

Further reading

A couple resources were mentioned with regards to this topic. I hope to check these out soon!

Get in touch!

Questions? Comments? Typos? Lies? Tweet me at sgryzko!

 

2 comments

  1. Pingback: LSCC OpenSpace – How To Create An Environment Fit For a Developer – aspiringtogeekdom
    • sgryzko · August 23, 2016

      Hi Fatema, thanks for sharing! Your article was a great summary of the management/developer relationship part of what we discussed. Also, I appreciate you staying behind to chat at the meetup! I couldn’t have had this lightbulb go on in my head without our discussion. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

